Our Mission.

The Anhelo Project is a group of student leaders, alumni and staff from various campus-based organizations at high schools, colleges, and universities in Chicago. Our goal is to support undocumented students, who despite growing up in the United States and earning their high school diplomas, continuously face challenging road blocks when pursuing a post-secondary education.

We define an undocumented student as someone who is not a U.S. citizen or permanent resident. In addition, their biggest obstacle is financial need due to ineligibility for federal and state financial aid. Since the fall of 2009, the Dream Gala Committee (The Anhelo Project) has raised funds in attempt to award scholarships to undocumented students who are in dire need of financial assistance. Our goal is to continue raising funds in order to further the education of undocumented students who are leaders in their communities.

The Team.

The Anhelo Project Board Members:

Joanna V. Maravilla, MEd., Doctoral Candidate, College of Education, UIC

Maria D. Ramos-Cuaya, MUPP, Associate Director of Homeownership, The Resurrection Project

Hector Silva, Design Lead, Research Assistant Professor, Industrial Design, University of Notre Dame

Gabriela A. Reno, M.A. Student, EA & Field Services Coordinator, The Global FoodBanking Network

Rogelio Cano, Managing Director at Ideal Tech Support, Network Security Administrator at Senior Lifestyle


The Dream Gala Committee:

Joselin Cisneros, Dream Gala Committee Member

Karla Cabrera-Perez, Dream Gala Committee Member

Lisa Chavez, Dream Gala Committee Member

Lidia Meneses, Dream Gala Committee Member

Victor Cueto, Dream Gala Committee Member


2018 Dream Scholarship Committee:

Victor Negrete, Harry S. Truman College

Alicia Rodriguez, City Colleges of Chicago

Yair Rodriguez, Chicago Scholars

Carlos Samaniego, John Hancock College Prep High School

Lydia Saravia, University of Illinois at Chicago

Luvia Moreno, Northeastern Illinois University

Carlos Ballinas, Northwestern University

Karen Mariscal, Marie Sklodowska Curie High School

Miguel Cambray, Heartland Alliance